user profile
Sign in
user profile

2023 holiday season - unprecedented?

by Seller_07WofIawtwL9i

I've been selling online for 23 years. I can remember no year in which I did not source and list as hard as I could for the upcoming holiday season. This year I am so numb over low sales of books and media that I feel nothing. Except existential dread over the potential for tons of returns.I fault myself for trying to do business as usual when something clearly has changed. I am low on ideas. With online sales not loving me back I am spending more time on lifestyle behaviors especially exercise.

Tags: Fulfillment, Seller fulfilled
34 replies
34 replies
Quick filters
Sort by
user profile
Seller_4zBzdtgCyS9EI
In reply to: Seller_07WofIawtwL9i's post

Sales have been so dramatically low the last 3 weeks, I had to STOP looking for any new inventory....I had FIVE cancellations in the last week. I generally get a single cancellation every few months....

user profile
Seller_HoZF0vVZvEP0Q

I've been selling books for 9 years, and this is the worst holiday season ever, maybe down 75%. So you are not alone. I also sell a bit on the bay, and it is almost no sales there either. My conclusion is that the economy is affecting consumer spending and we can only wait for better times.

user profile
Seller_Ha6JyVvDK6Ybs

Someone is doing good and it is Amazon. Like they said they drastically cut 3p sellers FBA limits to focus more on shipping for the holidays but you need inventory to sell very clear about the market and pricing manipulation going on got to keep them shareholders happy. Profit at all costs even if you burn you base. People do not have money to spend and what little they have Amazon is making sure they gobble it up on their rigged system.

user profile
Seller_aUbEyzlSSnsDJ