user profile
Sign in
user profile

Real or fake "Verified Purchase" reviews?

by Seller_eYTbVJ5Wdtz7q

I sell about 600 units/month of a brand registry product through FBA. I have been selling this product since 2015. There have been less than a dozen product returns for this item since I have been selling it. My reviews are organic and trickle in (2-6 a month).

I can’t help but wonder what I’m doing wrong. Everywhere I look (for all sorts of products), “verified purchase” reviews are pouring in at a rapid pace (several a day!). These reviews do not indicate that a product was given away or that a coupon was used. I noticed this with nearly every item I looked at while Christmas shopping this year.

So, how are these sellers generating so many reviews? Is there a legit service they are using to help them achieve this? What am I missing here?

Tags: FBA
71 replies
71 replies
Quick filters
Sort by
user profile
Seller_dxNiJ3wL98iWT
In reply to: Seller_eYTbVJ5Wdtz7q's post

While you might think it would be great to receive a never-ending stream of free tech stuff from Amazon, a couple from near Boston who are receiving just that eventually got weirded out by the whole thing and just want it to stop.

Michael and Kelly Gallivan never ordered any of it, and after five months of deliveries — all from China and which have so far included everything from bluetooth speakers and humidifiers to phone chargers and flashlights — they’ve had enough. But ending it is proving a challenge.

With a couple of items turning up every week, the Gallivans became worried they might end up having to pay for it all. There were no sender addresses or invoice slips with the packages, making them difficult to trace and impossible to return. Amazon asked Mike for order numbers but of course he didn’t have any. All the company could say with any certainty was that all of the items were ordered using gift cards.