user profile
Sign in
user profile

Is AMZN nerfing FBM in favor of FBA?

by Seller_LAhuiXJ4eMubd

So, guys, I have been doing SFP for many years now. I am competing directly with FBA sellers and sometimes with AMZN themselves.

In normal times, as long as I keep my prices competitive, I will win the buy box in my Prime region, The FBA sellers will win the buy box in the rest of the country, but I’m happy with just winning my Prime region.

Along comes COVID-19, and all of a sudden, I’m winning the buy box across the entire country. I’m sure some of you have experienced the same thing. Good times, yeah?

I’m sure FBA sellers were quite upset about this, and I’m sure they have all been complaining to anybody and everybody at AMZN who will listen.

Well, starting this afternoon the tides have turned and the FBA sellers are now winning the buy box everywhere, including my Prime region. My delivery date is 4 to 6 days sooner than theirs, my price is lower, my metrics flawless, no performance notifications, no return issues, Prime is active, and so on. I should at least be winning the buy box in my Prime region.

Is it possible that AMZN is giving the buy box to FBA sellers as a way to keep them from losing faith in the FBA concept? Even though it is providing an inferior buying experience to the customer?

Tags: Buy Box, Listings, Pricing
124 replies
124 replies
Quick filters
Sort by
user profile
Seller_BoHw6rmV7y9E8
In reply to: Seller_LAhuiXJ4eMubd's post

Very interested topic… I want to hear what others think about this. I will post my thoughts on this soon.

user profile
Seller_hA060q8nqygew

Is it possible that AMZN is giving the buy box to FBA sellers as a way to keep them from losing faith in the FBA concept?

Of course it’s possible. For that reason, or any other.

Even though it is providing an inferior buying experience to the customer?