user profile
Sign in
user profile

Anyone else noticing the USPS losing packages more often?

by Seller_tTXtLvprIcRBm

I’ve been selling books for several years on amazon and have always used USPS media mail. I’ve maybe had an 1 out of about 500 packages lost in the mail on average, but over the past two months I have noticed a much higher frequency of a customer messaging me saying the package has not arrived. Sure enough, each time I check the tracking I see a few updates as its in transit then just drops off the face of the earth.

Most of these customers contact me about a week or two after the last update which tells me it’s most likely lost and contacting the USPS seems useless, so I end up having to refund the customer.

Are any of you other sellers, whom use USPS, noticing a rise in undelivered packages?

Tags: USPS
12 replies
12 replies
Quick filters
Sort by
user profile
Seller_poLc4g2tJ5vV6
In reply to: Seller_tTXtLvprIcRBm's post

I haven’t had any undelivered packages (knock on wood as I have two out now) but I have noticed the tracking is never updated. Items I ship by Media Mail but with Tracking seem to only be scanned when they arrive, not when USPS picks them up, moves them between centers, etc.

user profile
Seller_bz6uHS1DbMmww

I’ve seen an increase of packages being stuck in the “In destination to next location” or miss-scanned … scanned at one location then scanned again 2 hours later at a location 800 miles away, yeah impossible.

The recent rate increase must not have been enough.

user profile
Seller_Tb9z0iOxA9QDP

We have had an increased amount of delay and missing mail within the last 2 months. We even had a package that was supposed to go to Texas and ended up in Puerto Rico. Not sure why the increased issues. I file a claim with USPS every time something arises in hopes this will help them in accounting for the problems.

user profile
Seller_HHJqHzaLgvVyD