user profile
Sign in
user profile

Slow sales... I have sold online for 17 years and am used to the ups and downs but lately... WOW!

by Seller_s7F7fMBDtix0d

This is not going to be the typical slow sales post by most newbies!

I sell "unnecessary" items... out of print cd's and dvd's, books, Hallmark ornaments and heck I sell Beanie babies still! I sell on 3 online sites plus a local flea market. But in all my 17 years of selling online I have never had a 3 month skid in sales like I have this year. I know all the "rules", list every day, adjust your prices, have good photos, have good descriptions, etc. I have done this for 17 years full time, I am not a newbie. Any other long term sellers seeing this slowdown? Inflation honestly is not THAT bad... yet. I remember when mortgages interest rates were 18% back in the 80's. I am really starting to worry, I have bills to pay like everyone else!

Oh, and overall I have about 4,000 active items at any given time.

Tags: Pricing
13 replies
13 replies
Quick filters
Sort by
user profile
Seller_kIukTwdhvntAp
In reply to: Seller_s7F7fMBDtix0d's post

Bringing back bad memories. My construction loan in 1981 was 17% and we were completed in 90 days since NO ONE was building. Permanent financing was 21% at my "friendly local bank." Ended up with a "negative amortization" deal and owed more every year for two years until rates started coming down.

This was in one of my morning reads today:

"U.S. credit card balances failed to decline in the first three months of 2023 as Amercans found themselves increasingly burdened by the relentless grip of chronic inflation. Total credit card debt stood at $986 billion in the first quarter, according to the Federal Reserve Bank of New York’s Quarterly Report on Household Debt and Credit on May 15, showing a record 17 percent jump year-over-year. Total household debt rose 0.9 percent in the first quarter of 2023 to a record $17.05 trillion."