Lightning Deals are flash sales where a product is featured for several hours on the Amazon Deals page, one of the most visited pages on Amazon. Featuring a product as a Lightning Deal might help increase sales and it might also be an effective way to reduce your inventory. There is a fee required to run a Lightinng Deal.
What is the fee and where can I see it?
You will be charged for each Lightning Deal that has been submitted and has successfully run. The fee is displayed next to the Submit button when you create the deal.
What doesn't affect the fee: Changes to the number of variations, quantity, and price.
What does affect the fee: The country in which you run the deal and the week you choose to run the deal.
Note: If applicable, you might be taxed based on the tax rules of the respective country.
The fee for your Lightning Deal might change depending on the date on which your Deal runs. The weeks with higher fees are a time period during which customer traffic to Amazon is significantly higher, leading to greater exposure and potential sales for your Deal.
If your Deal is scheduled during this higher traffic time period, you will be charged a higher fee, which will be displayed on the Lightning Deal page. If you are unsatisfied with the resulting fee, you can cancel the Deal (with no penalty) up to 25 hours before the Deal is expected to run.
When will I be charged?
You will be charged after a deal runs on its scheduled date and time. When the fee is processed, it will show up as a Lightning Deal Fee transaction on your Seller Central statement ( Seller Central > Reports > Payments > Transaction View > Lightning Deal Fee ). The fee will be deducted from your account, similar to FBA fees. You can view additional details, such as which deal is associated with the fee, by clicking on the amount in the Total column.
Will I be charged if my deal doesn’t perform well?
Amazon does not guarantee sales from running a Lightning Deal, nor provides refunds if your deal doesn’t perform well. You will not receive a refund if you sell 0 units or only a few units. Additionally, running a Lightning Deal does not guarantee that you’ll win the Buy Box.
If you were incorrectly charged a Lightning Deal fee for a Lightning Deal that didn’t run, please contact Seller Support within 30 days of the scheduled run time for possible refund consideration.
Will I be charged for a canceled deal?
You will not be charged if:
You will be charged the full fee if you cancel a deal while it is running.