Sell on Amazon Sign in
This article applies to selling in: United States

Advertising cost of sales (ACOS)

Advertising cost of sales (ACOS) is the percentage of direct sales you made from Sponsored Products ads, or the overall brand sales you made from Sponsored Brands that resulted from your advertising campaign. This is calculated by dividing total ad spend by total sales from advertising.

ACOS = total ad spend / total ad sales x 100

For example, if you spent $2 on advertising and those ads resulted in sales of $20, your ACOS would be 10%.

How to use ACOS

ACOS helps you measure the effectiveness of your campaigns relative to your advertising spend. A lower ACOS means your spending a lower percentage of sales on advertising. Learn more about sales

Note: For Sponsored Products campaigns, your sales data can take up to 48 hours to populate. For Sponsored Brands, brand sales data can take up to 12 hours to populate. As a result, ACOS is not available in the “Today” date range and might be delayed in the “Yesterday” date range.

ACOS recommendations by campaign targeting type

To minimize your spend on advertising, you’ll want to lower your ACOS. If your goal is to increase exposure of a new or existing ASIN, you might be okay with a higher ACOS for a set period of time.

Targeting type Low-performing campaigns Top-performing campaigns
Manual targeting
  • Consider lowering bids or pausing specific keywords that have a high ACOS.
  • Consider adding more keywords to see if they can improve campaign performance.
  • Consider increasing your campaign budget.
  • Review your list of keywords and identify the top performers. Increasing your bid on top performing keywords may generate additional impressions, clicks, and sales.
Automatic targeting
  • Consider adding negative keywords for search terms that have a high ACOS.
  • Consider lowering your default bid for the entire campaign.
  • Consider increasing your campaign budget.
  • Consider increasing your default bids to generate additional impressions, clicks, and sales.
Note: Automatic targeting is only available for Sponsored Products campaigns.
Sign in to use the tool and get personalized help (desktop browser required). Sign in


Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback
How can we improve this help page? Note: This form doesn’t create a support case. Please specify what you think is wrong with the content itself.
1000
What was helpful?
1000
Thanks again for your help!
Thank you for your feedback. If you have more questions, please Contact Us.

Reach Hundreds of Millions of Customers

Start Selling On Amazon


© 1999-2019, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates