Why won't Amazon accept my UPC barcode now that I have one for an existing product?

I’ve been selling my product on Amazon for a few months now, self-fulfilled because I didn’t have a barcode for it yet. Now that I have the barcode, I want to send inventory to Amazon for FBA.

I tried to duplicate this product and enter a new SKU and added the UPC # but it looks like it’s still the same product and when I go to ship the new listing for FBA, it says that the barcode must be Amazon’s. 1. I’m not sure Amazon won’t accept my barcode and 2. How should I set up my listing now that I want Amazon to fulfill? I tried deleting the second listing (the duplicate) but that just looks like I might delete the first one as well!

So confused…

Any help would be much appreciated!

did you try to convert the current listing to fba? it will give you a fnksu which is ‘amazons barcode’ when you go through the shipping plan and stuff.

Ok, I tried doing so with the first listing and I see the same issue as the duplicate listing. Based on why (in the tooltip box):
• the product IS new (all units are shrink-wrapped, brand new)
• I only applied the barcode to one listing so don’t think it corresponds to more than one ASIN ( I could be wrong).
• I don’t think Amazon would require this product to have an Amazon barcode because it doesn’t fall under a category where it should
• “The barcode doesn’t exist in the Amazon catalog”: do I need to input my barcode somewhere besides the product details?
• “This SKU is already assigned…” : I’m not sure if this is the issue or where to fix it.

Any thoughts?

Are you saying I should convert the listing to FBA anyway and then change my barcode status? I don’t want to use Amazon’s barcodes unless it’s free I guess, but my packaging shows my barcode so I’m not sure if that in itself is an issue if I choose to use Amazon’s barcodes.

It probably should be called an FBA Code instead because I think having Barcode in the name causes some confusion.