What is the deal with the new textbook restrictions?

I just received a request from Amazon for copies of invoices for my purchase of textbooks. I’ve been selling textbooks for several years that I find at yard sales and flea markets. To date, no customer complaints because they get the book in good condition, at a fair price. It appears they are seeking to limit sellers of textbooks to only companies buying directly from the publisher. How is what I’m doing to get inventory different from a large textbook company like Textbooks.com purchasing from individual sellers and then reselling on Amazon? Textbooks.com would not have an invoice from the publisher and no evidence of where the person that sold them the book obtained it.

First Amazon hikes up the fees for selling books, and now a death blow to the most profitable category.

Edited by: Arguendo Books on Jun 20, 2017 3:03 PM

Additional selling qualifications for certain popular products in the Books category
Restrictions
Amazon Gating Some High Ranked Books?

Another Nail in the Coffin…?

Eventually AZ 3p Sellers will be back to selling “used books”…Back to the Future?

I got this notification too and I am so confused. What are the certain popular books?? Who buys used books directly from the supplier??? I buy them from college students.

You can thank all the sellers (and producers) of counterfeit textbooks out there for such increasing restrictions. Or it’s the overly controlling publishers. Or both. Really, the publishers can’t do much more with all the counterfeits out there than try to police the secondary markets by having Amazon restrict some of the sales. It’s a shame, really. The scammers/counterfeiters ruin it for those of us legitimate sellers. It’s like many areas of life.

I’ve had a great run with textbooks over the last decade, but with the increasing number of counterfeits flooding the market the last couple years, I’m thinking about bailing.