Commisions Explanation

So, I’ve been selling for a few years on here and I know there’s always been a commission on each item you sell, but I was wondering about the rundown on them.

I’ve got items at about 2.00 and up and some of the commissions are more than the item.

What i’d like to know is

1-What is a "Referral fee?
2-What is a Variable Closing Fee?
3- Is there a way to get these fees changed? because if this keeps up, I won’t be able to sell on here for much longer or will have to completely revamp my entire inventory which I hate to do again.

The only change that has been made to the commissions model was implementing the Minimum Referral Fee earlier this year. You can read about all the fees by sales category from the link below:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/ref=help_search_1-2?ie=UTF8&nodeId=1161240&qid=1407252884&sr=1-2

Referral Fee:

• Sellers pay a referral fee on each item sold. Items in several categories have a per-item minimum referral fee as listed below (i.e., sellers pay the greater of the referral fee percentage or the per-item minimum referral fee). Anywhere from 8% to 15% depending on category.

Variable Closing Fee:

• Sellers pay a Variable Closing fee of $1.35 on Media products (per item) and $0.45 + $0.05/lb. for Non-Media products (per item).

>
> If you sell more than 40 items per month, a pro account makes more sense. With a pro account the referral fee is waived.
>
I sure wish this was true! It’s the variable fee thats waived with a pro account.

Bob

You’ve been selling here for a few years, and maybe now is a good time to review the seller guidelines.

The referral fee is paid by individual (not pro) sellers per item. It’s 15%, but can be more or less for some categories, and has a minimum of a dollar for most categories.

The variable fee is the commission to Amazon. As its name indicates, it varies, but for books it’s $1.35.