Amazon making advertising unprofitable?

I’ve been selling on Amazon for 5 years now and doing reasonably well. I’ve always had an auto-target campaign and in Sept 2019 was convinced by Amazon a manual campaign would be wise. Their people game me recommended keywords for my products, as well as recommended bids. Over time they send me more recommended keywords which make sense, as well as bid recommendations to go along with them.

I saw the option for dynamic bids for both up and down, when more likely to convert to a sale, it bids up, when less likely, it bids down. That sounds awesome! Anything that helps the business do more business and spend less on unneeded advertising expenses is a good thing for us all.

But here is the problem… Since using this tool, I’ve never lost more money than I have recently. I’m used to being charged $500 for my sponsored ads maybe once every two weeks. In the last two weeks I’ve been charged $1,664 and only captured $1,994 in sales. On the surface, I made $330, right? Well of course not… I’m FBA and MAYBE I capture 40% of a sale as profit, with about 40% being various Amazon fees (not counting PPC), and 20% being cost of product. Taking into account the $330, I spent $1,964 to cover all the fees and costs associated with those sales. I lost SO much money in these last two weeks it’s not funny and I don’t know where it went wrong. I’m wondering if a competitor is maliciously clicking on all of my ads to drive up my costs. Manual has never done as well as the auto ads, but it’s never been like this. I’ve been able to make a living and now I can not.