user profile
Sign in
user profile

[Informative] How the Buy Box works and Not winning the buy box despite being only seller and eligible ... by Oneida

by Seller_cu1Lr54OxusWw

How the Buy Box works and Not winning the buy box despite being only seller and eligible

(I started this post originally in 2017 on another thread - updates listed at the bottom)

… I decided to just split this out as a separate thread since there are still so many threads started asking.

I am not an expert or pretend to be but here’s my thoughts, for what they’re worth, to date :

Anyone interested in learning more should start with reading over :

Total Lack of a Buy Box on the Product Page … possible issues

• Offers are higher than the Amazon entered MSRP
  • No Buy Box eligible sellers or none within an acceptable price range
  • Lower prices found by Amazon on other sites. YES this is considered by Amazon.
    UPDATE - April 5, 2019 … Amazon just updated it’s MWS API’s to provide this data for your consideration.
    CompetitivePriceThreshold Post by MWS
    Summary

This was just released by Amazon April 5th 2019 …

The AnyOfferChanged notification now includes the optional CompetitivePriceThreshold element, which is available for some items sold on and off Amazon. The CompetitivePriceThreshold element provides the lowest price for an item from sellers not selling on Amazon. This does not consider prices from other Amazon sellers. The seller’s offer might be ineligible for the Buy Box if their landed price is greater than this price.

Buy Box Eligible Status (slightly edited by me) … which is either Yes or No

If you’re a Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) seller, you’re automatically eligible to win the Buy Box, or at least when this was written you were. If you’re not FBA , you must meet all of the conditions listed below. Amazon does not guarantee placement in the Buy Box.

1. Type of selling account: You must have a professional account. Here’s how you can upgrade.